Absolutely Almost – Student Twitter Chat

Join my 5th grade class for a Twitter chat about Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff.

Join my 5th grade class for a Twitter chat about Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff.

I’m looking for 4th, 5th or 6th grade teachers to participate in a Twitter chat with my class. The topic will be the novel Absolutely Almost. It doesn’t matter where you are in the novel, we can make it work. You can even start the book this week. My class can host (unless you’d like to split the hosting which I’m open to), and we will make sure to include questions that are relevant to your place in the novel. I’m currently reading this book aloud and we’re about a third of the way through. It’d be ideal if we could schedule a couple chats, but I’d be happy with setting up a single, one-and-done chat if that suits your needs better. I’m ready to start as soon as possible, but again, I’m flexible.

Goal: Students will use writing, reading, collaborative, and technological skills to communicate with other classes on a global network. Students will conclude that they can connect with others about books and reading and that they are a part of a global community of learners. Discussing books is cool!

Here’s how it will work:

  1. We will choose a date, time and tag to use for the chat.
  2. Our students will craft a number of questions.
  3. We will meet to discuss questions generated by our students.
  4. Students will discuss each question on Twitter. This is basically a Twitter lit circle, allowing students to connect with each other around the country/world about books and reading.

My ideal schedule (just throwing it out there…it can and will most likely change based on what works for other participants):

Tuesday 12/9 @ 1pm PT

Tuesday 12/16 @ 1pm PT

I hope you see value in a project such as this. Please complete the form below if you’re interested. Fingers crossed! I’m 100% open to your suggestions to make this a success for our students. If you prefer, you may also click here to expand the form and complete it on a full screen.

Check out my Absolutely Almost tag for Absolutely Almost resources (free read aloud or lit circle guide and various other ideas and printables). Click here if you’d just like the guide.

Leave a Reply

